I almost gave up my dream….

Today’s post is not going to be anything fancy or ultra-creative.  For a couple of weeks, I made this blog private as I contemplated so many opinions that I have received from various sources.  I wasn’t sure which direction to go….  I was feeling so very lost and confused…  

The opinion that hit me the hardest was from a man who told me to forget my past and just work towards my amazing future.  He told me he thinks my blog is the cause of my health issues being so severe.  My past is no longer an issue to me and does not hold me back what-so-ever in the amazing life I have today.  Yet, I began to wonder about my poor health and sever pain that is unimaginable to anyone who hasn’t experienced the illness…

I knew in my heart he was wrong even though so many of my posts are very emotionally painful to write, but I listened anyway and let go for a while.  Knowing full well in my mind that I haven’t even begun to touch on the toughest parts of the abuse I have survived and overcome, his words scared me to death!  Auto Immune disease is debilitating enough on its own.  I sure don’t want to increase what is already chronic pain!  Could I be subconsciously hurting myself???

Well, as I have been telling my children for years as they deal with peers, “Opinions are like belly buttons.  Everyone has one.”.  That’s not exactly the way the saying goes, heehee, but that’s the “G Rated” version I tell my three precious children!  😀

The Fibromyalgia flare-ups are really no different from what they have been since I got hit hard back in October, crippled to bed for sooooo many months.  I am just building a stronger tolerance and have gained wisdom to rest, not trying to out-stubborn the illness.  The Rheumatoid Arthritis has been crippling, putting me in bed for the past two days.  Giving up this blog did not help at all!  Recognizing my mistake, I decided today to practice what I preach and focus on my goals, NOT other’s opinions.  The goal of this blog is to help others find their voice and raise awareness in our society of the secrets that are killing so many. I should not let anyone step in and destroy that possibility!

If even just one person is touched and finds the strength to speak up and get help, this blog is a complete success.  If even one single person learns the signs and recognizes a friend, acquaintance or loved one who needs THEIR help, THIS BLOG IS A COMPLETE SUCCESS!!!  Some chances are very worth taking, don’t you agree???

DO NOT let ANYONE destroy YOUR dreams!!!  There will always be critics, but those critics more than likely haven’t traveled your journey or one even close to it.  People are scared of what they don’t know and/or understand.  They do not want the “taboo” subjects that have been or were our “normal” to be spoken about openly.  Those opinions are what keep us silent about our stories in the first place, empowering our abusers even more.  That silence can be deadly and is in way too many cases…  Overcome those fears with me, okay?  We can do this together!  I believe in ME, and I believe in YOU.  I KNOW dreams come true.  My children are one.  😉  

Think about your own life, every little detail.  How many of your own personal dreams have already come true???  Were the difficulties making them a reality well worth it???  Well, don’t forget what C.S. Lewis said: “You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.”.  Let’s do this!  

Image

“No matter how your heart is grieving, if you keep on believing, the dreams that you wish will come true.” 
― Walt Disney Company

A few resources to help you:

http://www.fmnetnews.com/

http://www.webmd.com/

http://overcomingsexualabuse.com/

http://www.rainn.org/

https://www.facebook.com/IcanHelpYouHeal

https://www.facebook.com/MyFibroFamily

https://www.facebook.com/ChillAtThePond

https://www.facebook.com/CreatingTheBestYou

Leave a Reply

