Meet my friend, Samantha Gluck!

Medtopicwriter

Excerpt from my feature story on adult onset eating disorders in Balanced Living Magazine:

Each year, pediatricians see increasing numbers of very young children, who have fallen prey to eating disorders (EDs), in their clinics and hospitals.  But the specter of anorexia, bulimia, and other eating-related disorders can manifest in people of any age.  Increasingly, women in their thirties and forties fall prey to these devastating psychological disorders.

Starving in Midlife

Psychiatrists and mental health professionals are reporting steadily increasing numbers of fully adult women presenting with these disorders, which usually develop in the preteen or teenage years. For these people, a major life change or crisis serves as the catalyst for the development of eating disorders. Divorce and loss of a loved one or job represent events that can trigger deterioration of psychological well-being leading to the initial appetite and weight loss. The control these women feel, due…

View original post 59 more words

5 responses to “

  1. Thank you for the introduction, Lail and thank you for following Medtopicwriter – the bleeding edge of health care news and information. I didn’t realize that you had a blog. I love the colors and can’t wait to read your posts! Blessings to you and yours, always.

    XO
    Samantha

    • Love and friendship always. My blog is very new. I admit I am struggling because the stories and facts I am sharing trigger my PTSD. It is proving to be a challenge I pray I can continue. There are so many out there who never tell and I am striving to help them to find there voice. I subscribed to your blog and will follow you better now. xo

      • I’m sorry you are struggling, Lail. You’re always in my prayers, my sweet wonderfully-made friend! I’m following your site as well and look to the day when we can meet in person. xo

Leave a Reply

