Children live what they learn. Teach your children with TLC.

Children Learn What They Live
By Dorothy Law Nolte, Ph.D.


If children live with criticism, they learn to condemn.
If children live with hostility, they learn to fight.
If children live with fear, they learn to be apprehensive.
If children live with pity, they learn to feel sorry for themselves.
If children live with ridicule, they learn to feel shy.
If children live with jealousy, they learn to feel envy.
If children live with shame, they learn to feel guilty.
If children live with encouragement, they learn confidence.
If children live with tolerance, they learn patience.
If children live with praise, they learn appreciation.
If children live with acceptance, they learn to love.
If children live with approval, they learn to like themselves.
If children live with recognition, they learn it is good to have a goal.
If children live with sharing, they learn generosity.
If children live with honesty, they learn truthfulness.
If children live with fairness, they learn justice.
If children live with kindness and consideration, they learn respect.
If children live with security, they learn to have faith in themselves and in those about them.
If children live with friendliness, they learn the world is a nice place in which to live.

Copyright © 1972 by Dorothy Law Nolte

I have three children.  They are more than I ever dreamed to me.  

Abigail Kate is 15.  Winston Ellis is 13.  Alexandra Louise is 10.

We call them Abbie, Bubba and Lexi.

They are our UNCONDITIONAL LOVE.  

Because of my struggles to recover from 31 years of mental, physical, AND sexual abuse, they too have lived more than what is “fair” in such a short period of life.  THAT is not okay with me.  I have yet to completely come to terms with THAT.  I talk to God about THAT every single day.  You see, my last attack by my older, adopted brother, who started raping me at age 7, happened two years ago next month.  THAT is going to take quite awhile for you to understand AND for me to explain….  

Image

Image

Image

I am their Mommy.  I am Lail.

Image

I have turned every single thing that has happened negatively into a positive.

Typically when crisis has struck, I make it a lesson in strength, courage, persistence and show my children exactly how we all gained wisdom.  Wisdom is priceless.  I have taught my children that they can accomplish absolutely ANYTHING if they truly want it with all their heart.  I have taught them to fight through every single battle and to NEVER give up.  How did I teach them that?  I showed them.  You see, I am Mommy.  I am the perfect person to be the best example of strength.  I refuse to let my many abusers destroy me!  Yes…  there were many……..

I AM.

Image

Image

DON’T GET ME WRONG, LIFE CAN BE VERY LONELY FOR ME…

“The woman who follows the crowd will usually go no further than the crowd.

The woman who walks alone is likely to find herself in places no one has ever been before.” 
― Albert Einstein

I have had to learn to walk alone most of my life because it is hard to make friends being so different as my person has developed to be.  I don’t see people the way others do.  I do appreciate attractiveness to an extent, but I am so picky who I allow around me.  I have serious trust issues, for obvious reasons that are easy for you to see.  I look past physical attractiveness quickly, I seek TRUE BEAUTY.  Anybody can use all the gazillions of tools in this world paired with time and money to become plain ole attractive.  That just isn’t enough for me…  I seek TRUE BEAUTY, felt by the heart more than clear for just the eye to see.

Image

Image

THROUGHOUT MY LIFE, GOD HAS SENT ME SO MANY ANGELS…

RECENTLY, GOD SENT ME BREE.

My oldest daughter, Abbie, has been dedicated to a passion since a young musician appeared for the world to see.

JUSTIN BIEBER

Yes, Justin is a HUGE celebrity.  However that young star is so much more than most people realize or want to admit.  He started an amazing world wide drive to get everyone involved in charity.  Because of Abbie’s dedication to Justin over the past few years, she was chosen to be Justin Bieber’s OKLAHOMA STREET TEAM LEADER.  Her responsibility is to promote her passion and build a team in Oklahoma to do all kinds of charity.  She is just getting started, but she had already created a charity on her own before being selected.  It began as  @JBcoins4cancer on Twitter.  Can you believe she is 15?  Most adults never start a charity…  Bree is California’s STREET TEAM LEADER.  She is extremely special, obviously.  Today Bree shared something very special with me.  As I listened to the song Bree shared that describes her feeling perfectly, I felt that old familiar heaviness weigh down my tender heart and overtake my entire body.  I immediately new her pain all too well…  It’s a sad gift for me because I REALLY do feel other’s pain physically, all through my heart and physical body.  It got heavier and heavier and TEAR DROPS appeared….  TEAR DROPS embraced my body….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_tjfvFYOZH0&feature=youtu.be

Click the link above and see if YOU understand the TRUE BEAUTY that is Bree.

DO WE REALLY KNOW HOW MUCH SHIT OUR NOT QUITE ADULT CHILDREN HAVE TO LIVE WITH?

Image

DO WE REALLY PAY ATTENTION TO THEIR PAIN? or are we too BUSY to really see???

Image

Please, take the time to give them hugs and comfort every single day.

IT COULD SAVE THEIR LIVES.  IT’S NOT EASY DEALING WITH PEERS, WE KNOW THIS.

Anytime you feel yourself slipping away from your kids, remember YOU are THEIR absolute EVERYTHING.

YOU ARE YOUR CHILDREN’S REASON TO SMILE.

CHILDREN LIVE WHAT THEY LEARN.  MAKE SURE THEY LEARN THEY ARE BEAUTIFUL, LOVED AND WORTHY OF THE BEST LIFE HAS TO OFFER.  MAKE SURE THEY LEARN THEY CAN COUNT ON YOU EVERY SINGLE DAY.

One response to “Children live what they learn. Teach your children with TLC.

Leave a Reply

